top of page



Massachusetts Agriculture in the Classroom was founded in 1983 and incorporated as a non-profit 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization in 1984. We continue to be part of a national effort committed to promoting agricultural education and literacy.


The organization is led by an all volunteer and highly committed Board of Directors consisting of teachers, farmers, partners, and agriculture education advocates. 

The Board of Directors consists of 10-15 members representing Massachusetts educators, farmers, and community groups.


The Board meets twelve times per year and actively supports and guides the mission, vision and programs of Massachusetts Agriculture in the Classroom

If you would like to join a meeting to learn more, send email to


Roberta Oles, President 

Christopher Szkutak and Maria Berrios, Vice-Presidents

Robert Cote, elected Aug.,2021. Treasurer  

Sharon Nist, Secretary


Board of Directors


Ann Prest, Mass State Grange Representative

Marjorie Cooper, Past President, Founding Member

Russell Anderson, Retired Science and Technology Teacher

Rita Brennan Olson, Mass Partnership for Food Safety Education

Sharon Nist, Retired Educator

Education Advisors


Harry Brandt, Chicopee Schools                                          

Mary Glabach, Erving Elementary                                         

Ellen Nylen, School Nutrition Director, Webster Public Schools 

Shawn O’Neill, Robinson Elementary, Marshfield                  

Kate O’Brien, Peabody Schools, Special Needs

Christine Robbins, Auburn Middle School   

Teresa Strong, Boston Public Schools



Cynthia Jensen, Retired Science Teacher

Denise Courtney, Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE)

Kevin Dawson, DESE

Dr. James Alicata, Fitchburg State University

Diane Baedeker Petit, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service

Mary McCaffrey, Cape Cod Cranberry Growers Association

Rick LeBlanc, Mass Dept. of Agricultural Resources

Mary Jordan, Mass Dept. of Agricultural Resources

Marian Hazzard, Teacher and School Gardener


Ed Bourgeois, Pioneer Valley Sheep Breeders Association

Henry Hicks ,   Founding Member, MA Council of Social Studies   

June Johnson , Treasurer until 2019

To learn more about the board, or to join our monthly virtual meetings, send us an email at

bottom of page